Action Blocked and Rate Limits

Action Blocked

You may have seen one of these alarming messages when using the Instagram app:

“Based on previous use of this feature, your account has been temporarily blocked from taking this action…”

“This action was blocked. Please try again later. We restrict certain content and actions to protect our community.”

These messages indicate you’ve hit the limits for likes, follows, unfollows, or comments from your Instagram account.

Rate Limits

Instagram’s rate limits determine whether and how often you can like, follow, or unfollow. If for example we tried to do 2000 likes per day from your Instagram account, you’d get flagged shortly after we push past the normal limits around 800-1200 likes per day. If we kept doing it, the flags would last longer — days to a week — before clearing. If we still kept pushing it, your account could be shut down.

The allowed action limits are lowered depending on recent usage or recently exceeding the limits.

Using multiple automation services at the same time is a quick way to exceed the limits and risk losing your account.

Staying Safe

Instagram tells us when to slow down and we already know approximately what the limits are. We stay under those limits and respect whenever it tells us to back off, just like a human would when using the Instagram app.